No means no, not “make me”

After reading and listening to so many things concerning this controversial topic of feminism, I decided that I wanted to address this subject matter as well. It has come to my attention, especially after seeing Emma Watson’s inspiring He for She speech, that many people are associating the word feminism with “man-hating”. Feminism is, in fact, not anti-men; it is not against anyone for that matter. It is the fight for gender equality.

 Women deserve the right to be treated as equally as men and the right to be respected like them. Often in our society, women who fight for equal rights, women who are feminists, are responded with threats and seen with a negative connotation. I truly don’t understand why this word brings up so many bad thoughts when the definition clearly states that it is “the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men”. By definition, this fight is not just a woman’s fight, but a man’s as well.

“If men don’t have to be aggressive, women won’t be compelled to be submissive. If men don’t need to control, women won’t have to be controlled. Both men and women should feel free to be strong. It is time that we all see gender as a spectrum instead of two sets of opposing ideals. We should stop defining each other by what we are not and start defining ourselves by who we are.”

-Emma Watson

I believe that women should have the right to do whatever they want, wear whatever they want without being sexualized. I am tired of walking home with my keys clenched between my fingers, I am tired of nervously walking down the dark, empty streets and wondering if that man I see is simply a harmless stranger or a potential rapist, I am tired of being told that I would be asking for it if I wore something too revealing, something too sexy. It is not my fault that somehow showing my shoulders or my legs causes you to lose control. Stop treating women like sexual objects and instead, start teaching men how to respect women. Stop teaching girls not to be raped and start teaching boys not to rape.

I found this post below as I was browsing the internet and it struck so close to home I just had to share it with you all:

“Because when I was 13 years old, I was sent home for my tank top straps being a little too thin, but a boy could wear a Cool Story babe, Go Make Me A Sandwich shirt and not be looked at twice.

Because when I was 17 and I told a guy “No” and the next day the word tease was painted on my locker.

Because when I was 18 and just wanted to be friends, I was mean.

Because I feel the need to say “I have a boyfriend” instead of “No” because guys respect other men more than they would ever respect me.

Because society screams “don’t get raped” instead of “don’t rape”

Because I am scared to walk alone at 10 PM

Because being beautiful is the most important thing I’ll ever do.

Because when I wear my favorite skirt “I’m asking for it”

Because the song Blurred Lines exists

Because no means no no matter how you spin it

Because a girl was drugged and raped with a beer bottle, and the boys who did it are out on bail.

Because I owe you nothing

Because pepper spray is a gift I receive yearly.

Because I am asked if I have a boyfriend more than I am asked about my mental health

Because my clothes say more about my consent then my mouth does.

Because the wage gap exists

Because “not all men are like that” is said way too often

ENOUGH ARE

Because I feel the need to say “I’m not a feminist but…”

Because I’m writing this piece.”

-When you ask why I’m angry.

Leave a Reply

