Why I say our education system is flawed.

This week, I just really wanted to address the flaws I see in our education system. You see, nowadays, colleges and universities are more competitive than ever! I feel like just to get into my dream school, I must have a 4.0+ gpa, stellar SAT scores, and a plethora of extra curriculars. As you can see, there’s really no surprise on how this inflicts a lot of stress on high school students all around the world. I mean how is it humanly possible to study and get amazing grades, get 8 hours of sleep a night, stay social, keep up with my after school activities, and still stay mentally sane. I’ll just say that its pretty darn hard to achieve this.

tumblr_mlaou3GKai1qbr8m0o1_500[1]

Screenshot_2014-10-25-17-03-46

I don’t even think that school is accurately measuring our intelligence. The only thing I’ve really mastered is how to take a test well. If you asked me how to pay mortgage bills, or how to vote, I wouldn’t have the slightest idea how to do it. And to think in just about 3 short years, I will have to know how to do these things.

Then we are expected to choose a career we want to pursue shortly after we leave high school. A place where we were just still asking the teacher if we could go use the restroom. A place where we were still being treated as through we are 10 years old even though we are almost legally an adult..

I don’t really know how to express my feelings without going on and on and on for three days so I found this post about how a high school graduate feels about our education system and it’s honestly one of the best things I’ve ever read. It puts all of my thoughts into words better than I can.

 I am grade 12 student who has just recently graduated. You might call me accomplished, and in a way, I am, but not in the way you’d think. 12 years of pouring over text books and being lined up to be judged in front of my peers has not made me any more intelligent. I can tell you the first 45 digits of Pi and I can explain to you the difference between an acid and a base, I can recite the Pythagorean Theorem in my sleep, I will recite lines out of a textbook like they are a religion. But I cannot tell you the value of security, or of kindness. The distinct contrast between personal health and personal gain. I can tell you in grade 10 four of my classmates attempted to take their own lives before finals. I can tell you our counsellors office is always booked. I can tell you how when I didn’t understand something in AP Chemistry my teacher asked me to leave if I could not participate in his class. I merely asked him to explain a question. Instead of doing his job and teaching, he told me to leave. Told me I was not good enough to be there. Mistakes are viewed as failure in these hallways. A wrong answer is a sin you must atone to, not a human error, but a flaw so grand it defines your entire life course. There is no “average” here. We all must exceed expectations. Do your parents know that a grade that is considered average is a “C”? When I got a C in fourth grade my parents grounded me for a month. They said I was lazy and stupid and incompetent and that I’d better smarten up and stop fooling around. I never fooled around. I am driven by a deep need to impress others. I never fool around. I worked and worked and worked, with a deep hollow of anxiety in my chest. I have never been good at History, but I worked and worked and I attained at best a low B. It was not good enough. It is not said but we are expected to put our education before our personal health. It is not asked of us, but it is what we must do to achieve what we are asked to achieve. Our teachers will tell you, “Oh, I only give them one hour of homework each night.” Which is essentially true, each of my five teachers only gives me one to two hours of homework each night. Hmm, that adds up to 5-10 hours of homework, and overdue classwork, and projects. Say goodbye to sleep, say goodbye to feeling calm. I’ve developed a deep rooted anxiety disorder due to school and perfectionistic tendencies. Even when you get 100 percent on an assignment they still criticise you, it is never good enough. One slip, and you are in deep deep trouble. I can tell you that 90 percent of us try our hardest, and our teachers and parents stand in the sidelines, screaming, “You can do better than that!” (Source)

To all the people who feel like their world is falling apart:

So what? You failed your finals. You gained some weight. So what? You’re single again. You lost your job. So what? What now? You live. You try again. That’s what. (Source)

But in the end, it’s okay to be a mess, its okay to not have all of your stuff together. We are human. We make mistakes. Don’t just sit there and watch your life go down the toilet. Do something about it; fix it. Get up and learn from your mistakes, live your life. Although life might seem like its unfair sometimes, you don’t just give up, you try again. And you try and you try and you try until you know you have given it your all.

Well thanks for reading all that! Hope you have a lovely day and I’ll see you next week!

Leave a Reply

