How to feel better and become better.

we buy things...

I feel like human beings have a deep-rooted need or want to impress others. Whether it be with their appearance, money, clothes, car, occupation, social status… For whatever reason, we often put the opinion of others over our thoughts, over our feelings. Maybe because we think others’ approval equates to our happiness. Or maybe its just because we want to be liked and loved by others.

Don’t cross oceans for people who wouldn’t cross a puddle for you. (+)

I’m sick of feeling the need to seek the acceptance of others just to give me peace of mind. I’m tired of wanting to be like everyone else because I’m afraid of what others might think if I did what I want to and stood out. It is time that I stopped worrying about people who don’t even care. I regret making unworthy people a priority in my life and letting people walk all over me. It’s okay to terminate toxic relationships, it doesn’t make you a bad person. You have enough pain, you don’t need to be dragged down by other people who make you feel horrible.

Honestly, in the end, people are going to judge you no matter what you do so just do whatever you want and makes you happy and forget about what they think. So there’s really no need to impress others. You just do you. Work to impress yourself and become the person that you want to be. Not the person that your parents wants you to be or your friends want you to be.

revised

Look at you. You’re young. And you’re scared. Why are you so scared? Stop being paralyzed. Stop swallowing your words. Stop caring what other people think. Wear what you want. Say what you want. Listen to the music you want to listen to. Play it loud as heck and dance to it. Go out for a drive at midnight and forget that you have school the next day. Stop waiting for Friday. Live now. Do it now. Take risks. Tell secrets. This life is yours. When are you going to realize that you can do whatever you want?
— Louise Flory

Something I learned as I grew older was that I should never let others’ thoughts take precedence over my own.  I’ve decided that from now on, I will live for myself and myself alone. I have wasted so much time, so many years, living for others and getting nothing in return. But now, I will stop doing things that I don’t want to and live simply for myself and what makes me happy. I might not be able to get all those years back but at least I can get my life back.

Being happy is a very personal thing—and it really has nothing to do with anyone else. (+)

 

Leave a Reply

