Live a Little, Take Some Risks!

Sometimes I think about all the missed opportunities I had. What would have happened if I had taken those chances instead if sticking with what I am comfortable with.

Do you ever just think about how one little thing can change your life forever. Its absolutely mind blowing. I can’t even fathom how I would react if my life changed drastically. I’m used to normality. It’s what I’m comfortable with. And I like doing what I am used to…

live

Sometimes I find myself turning down invitations to hang out just so I can go home and waste my day away on Netflix. Now don’t get me wrong, I love hanging out with friends or even family. But sometimes, I just feel like getting away from people to recoup up on energy. It’s like being around people all the time drains me and I have to spend time by myself to get back to normal. Which is totally bizarre. Right?

Or maybe I won’t take a chance on something simply because I am afraid of being judged if I do it. Even if I would very much enjoy doing that one thing. I often ask myself why I even bother letting other people’s opinions get to me. I know that I shouldn’t, its just– It happens anyway.

I feel my biggest reason for not taking chances has to be because of my fear of failure (atychiphobia). I am overridden by this anxiety to always be successful. Some may say this is a good thing but this phobia sometimes stops me from reaching my goals because I don’t want to take any risks. I don’t want to do anything that would result in me failing; just the very thought of failing absolutely… terrifies me.

fly

But that’s going to change starting now. I’m going to start taking risks and doing what I want to do, not just what I feel comfortable doing. Because in order to grow, I need to get out of my comfort zone. I need to do things that I normally would be afraid of. I need to rid myself of this ridiculous fear of failure that is hindering my own success. Also, I should start having a little fun with my life and quit worrying about what is to come. Whatever happens, will happen.

“When it feels scary to jump, that’s exactly when you jump. Otherwise you end up staying the same place your whole life. And that I can’t do.”

-A Most Violent Year, J.C. Chandor

Leave a Reply

