“Music is the language of the spirit.”

arctic-monkeys-am-cover-610x225

If you asked me what one thing I absolutely could not live without was, it would have to be music. I can’t really explain the impact that music has specifically on me so I turned to Victor Hugo, who stated: Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent.

Like Hugo, I think that music is an amazing way to express your feelings when you can’t really show how you feel verbally. I mean, do you ever just listen to a song and it explains how you feel so well that you want to scream it from the top of a building or tattoo it on your forehead? Because I definitely do!!

Not only that, but I also love how you can see a bit of a person’s personality just based on the music they listen to or what their favorite song is; it’s just so incredible.

Music touches us emotionally, where words alone can’t.

Johnny Depp

For me, one of the best things in the entire world has to be discovering new music. I once sat for hours on YouTube, captivated by these totally rad songs and underrated bands that I was only just finding out about. I would then continue to listen to these songs on repeat for days on end until I eventually ruined the song for myself and could no longer listen to it. Of course, I still thought that they were good songs, but listening to them so often made me eventually get tired of them, which is such a shame because they were amazing.

428046_375814892448627_117785548251564_1348416_397763113_n_large

I can’t really classify my favorite genres of music because I listen to so many various ones, but if I had to, I’m going to say that it’s something along the lines of indie and rock music. Just to get a taste of what I like, some of my favorite bands are Alt-J, Glass Animals, The Weeknd, Kodaline, Arctic Monkeys, and San Cisco.

He took his pain and turned it into something beautiful. Into something that people connect to. And that’s what good music does. It speaks to you. It changes you.

Hannah Harrington, Saving June

There once was a time when I went without listening to music for a couple of days and that was when I realized that music was a necessity in my life. I never truly understood how much I needed music to survive until I did that…

I watched this really good movie a couple of weeks ago called Almost Famous which is about how this boy discovered rock and roll music and it completely changed his life. I personally thought it was a really great movie that did a wonderful job at depicting how much of an impact music can have on someone’s life. I honestly can’t even begin to explain how good of a movie this is. The only way to really see, is if you watch it yourself, which I 10/10 would recommend!

af_0472

Well that’s all for tonight, see you all next week!

2 thoughts on ““Music is the language of the spirit.”

  1. I found your article under the Arctic Monkeys tag and I just had to say that I couldn’t agree more; I definitely couldn’t live without music. Sorry for the random comment but I just absolutely loved this post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

