“So many books, so little time.”

book

I was in the fourth grade when I fell in love with reading. It all started when my cousin told me to read the Harry Potter series, which is exactly what I did, eventually. At first, I was skeptical about reading them because if you’ve seen these books, you would know that they are huuuge. This made me hesitant because I thought there was no way I could ever finish that book, but I later decided to just get over my fears and read the books. And let me tell you, that was the best decision I have ever made in my prepubescent years. I mean what could be better than a few teenage wizards fighting against a scary guy with no nose in a cool world where magic actually existed. Its exciting, its fun, its a break from reality. From then on out, I was always the girl with her nose in a book. I read everything from fantasies to mysteries to horrors to romance. There was nothing I didn’t like. Well actually scratch that, I disliked most nonfiction novels because I just thought they were complete snoozers.

read

I thought it was just incredible how you could lose yourself in a great book and ignore everything that went on around you. It’s almost as if you were living a different life when you read. Books were a wonderful way to just forget and jump into a world where things that were stressing you out didn’t matter any more and you could just relax for a few hours. They illustrated things that you never thought could be possible: wizards, potions, magic, fairies, vampires, and the list goes on and on.

“A great book should leave you with many experiences, and slightly exhausted at the end. You live several lives while reading.”
William Styron, Conversations with William Styron

The sad thing is, as I began high school, I found myself reading less and less and less. Maybe its because of the larger workload or because I’m tired all the time. I don’t really know to be honest. Don’t get me wrong, I still love reading and I wish I would read more but there’s just no time for me to sit down and read a nice, long book anymore with school and other extracurricular activities. But that’s going to change starting now; I’m going to start reading more, even if that means I’m only gonna read 5 pages a day, so be it. It’s definitely a start.

Well thanks for reading all you lovely people! See you all next week.

2 thoughts on ““So many books, so little time.”

  1. JK Rowling is very imaginative 🙂
    I hope you don’t mind, but I nominated you for a Leibster Award. I really love your blog and wasn’t quite sure whether you had got one already but the questions are on my blog if you want to take a look at them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

