Over That Cool Phase

I can relate to this post so much. I think that since movies and tv shows often portray a lot of clique-iness, we are led to believe that we need to belong in a friend group to feel secure and happy. I, for one, used to think that I would be branded a loner if I didn’t have a specific group of friends that accepted me. However, I’ve learned that its extremely difficult to find a group of true friends who you are certain will stick with you through all the bad and the good as well. Even though it would definitely be nice to be a part of a group of friends that you can do anything and everything with, I know now that its perfectly okay to not have a group of friends and you just have to learn to be content with what you do have.

jum

I used to long for a group of friends that all hung out with each other and I could always run to whenever I was feeling crummy or nap with whenever I felt like it. It just seemed, I don’t know, pretty cool to feel secure in a group of friends where you know for certain that you’re welcome. But when I am being invited to be with acquaintances, I feel like a huge outsider because my interests don’t align with theirs… Or anything really. My sense of humor, what I find to be news, my music, shows, etc. With that all different there wasn’t really much I could talk about with them.

View original post 242 more words

Leave a Reply

