Thoughts of an amateur blogger.

tumblr_n28e4uvzwi1qbm3fco1_400[1]

I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned this but this blog was actually created for an English class that I am currently taking. When you think about English, you think about essays, readings, and more essays, but this year, I think it’s safe to say that I have not written any essays. Instead, we have been geared more towards writing blog posts, which I personally love, because it’s a little bit more informal and you are allowed to have a little fun with it.

What first started out as an assignment quickly grew into something that I very much enjoyed and actually looked forward to doing. My blog has become a place of expression for me, a place I could go to if there was something on my mind that I so desperately just needed to put into words. It became my outlet. Its also so lovely to hear other people’s kind words about the things that I have written. If I’m not writing for me, then I have to say that I’m writing for my readers, who I am extremely thankful for. I love all of you.

tumblr_n6cmqeH6vz1tc539yo1_400[1]

From my personal blogging experience, I like to write about things that I am passionate about. It’s a lot easier to find words to write about the things that you love than subjects you know nothing about. And when you write about something that you love, you put a lot of effort into in order to get your point across. I love it when I’m reading a captivating piece where the author’s passion for the subject on which they are writing about leaks through their writing and you can really see how much they care about it. This will help me in the future because it helps me to enter the global conversation and put my views and opinions out there for everyone to read. Although it sounds daunting to just lay yourself out there for the world to see, I’ll have to say that its worth the risk of criticism.

Next time, I would definitely put a lot more effort into publicizing my blog and trying to get it out there in the world. I feel this was the area that I was lacking the most on because I did not put my heart and soul into fully nuturing my blog and helping it to become something bigger than it is. I know that had I spent a little more time posting updates on social media accounts, I would have more readers on my blog.

tumblr_mf844buXWo1qzd0p8o1_400[1]

I encourage next year bloggers to publicize, interact with their readers, comment on other people’s blogs, and just put effort into their blog and their posts. It might seem like a lot of work but trust me, you will reap the benefits of your hard work in the future. Also I just want to say to not wait until the last minute to write your blog post because then you might find yourself struggling to conjure up the words that you want to say. It’s extremely easy to forget about your deadlines when you have other classes and things on your mind so my suggestion for you would to just set reminders for yourself (write on a post it note and place it all around your house, set alarms, write it into your calender, etc.).

Not all of my posts have tons and tons of views, but that’s okay because it’s more important to consider the impact that my writings had on a reader. My sole goal is to inspire someone though my words, and if I have achieved that, then there is nothing more that I could ask for. I just want my writing to influence someone to go out into the world and do something amazing, something beautiful. I ask you to do the same, write with integrity and write with passion, for together, these two thingsĀ can be extremely powerful. Use pictures and quotes to your advantage, they can strengthen your posts. I’ve found that sometimes, one simple image can transform the entire blog post into something amazing.

tumblr_n9fiy7HF0T1sbjfs6o1_400[1]

Leave a Reply

